Nov 24, 2008

The Google Promote Button

Discovering the little button we've all been seeing in our latest rounds of Google searching. If you like what your Google search has found, promote the link. If you don't link what your Google search has found, remove the link.

Google's position:

Google is always experimenting with new features aimed at improving the search experience.

This experiment lets you influence your search experience by adding, moving, and removing search results. When you search for the same keywords again, you'll continue to see those changes. If you later want to revert your changes, you can undo any modifications you've made. Note that this is an experimental feature and may be available for only a few weeks. - Google Experimental Labs

A quick video of a user's experience using the Google promote buttons:





Will these small buttons have a huge impact on our Real Estate marketing efforts? It looks like Google's not the only one who will be making updates to their site! SEO forever changing as we know it?

6 comments:

  1. Are you sure it uses your IP address and not your Google Account ? maybe you are logged in with you three computers ?
    Using the IP address only would really be a bad idea. Indeed, it would mean that a whole company sharing a Web Proxy / single Internet connection would see the action of a single employee...

    ReplyDelete
  2. Confirmed. I ran a test and my promotion doesn't show up on my brother's computer.
    Plus, it's stating "*customize* your search results..." on the first try.

    What is public, though, is your comment on the result.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi StreetPC,

    Let me caveat my comments by stating that we're definitely not coming from a higher level technical viewpoint of this new experimental tool from Google, merely exposing the basics of it as it will definitely have an impact on many online markets if it comes to fruition.

    With that being said, our experience is more similar to yours. When "logged in" to one of our Google accounts, we can see that we promoted our article ("The Google Promote Button" - I know, shameless, I'm sorry). Upon "logging out", and "logging in" to another account, we have the option to promote our article but it does not show us the promotion that we made from our other account. Same computer, same IP, same session, same browser window, etc.

    As you find additional technical tidbits on this experimental tool, please continue to come by and let us know what you've found.

    Until then, thank you for your insight!

    ReplyDelete
  4. yeah i noticed it this morning...seems pretty cool except i'd imagine spammers are going to run around tryin to promote all of their own pages. I wonder what affect it will have on overall ranking

    ReplyDelete
  5. I have to agree with dunk, I think it’s based on google account, although I have read in many places it’s based on IP. not sure what the basis is from, but it could be a combination of both.
    I wonder to what extent this will be deployed. I know many are talking about the new social factor of SERP’s, but is this going to come and go as the vote buttons on the original toolbar.

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's not a good feature for SEO, it's just a google user preference.

    ReplyDelete